Skip to main content

Robert A. Pritzker Prize

The Robert A. Pritzker Prize for Leadership in Parkinson's Research recognizes scientists who have made it their life's work to speed better treatments for Parkinson's patients.

"Inspiring hope for a world free from Parkinson's"

About the Prize

Honoring scientists who have made it their life’s work to speed better treatments for Parkinson's patients is how Karen Pritzker and her late husband, Michael Vlock, decided to pay tribute to her late father. With their generous support, The Michael J. Fox Foundation began awarding the Robert A. Pritzker Prize annually in 2011 to researchers whose work embodies those attributes of the renowned industrialist, entrepreneur and philanthropist.

Known for his creativity, giving spirit, humility and enthusiasm for finding innovative solutions, Robert Pritzker was a true visionary, and the award is a fitting tribute to his legacy. Using the prize to empower scientists is not only about paying tribute to the man for whom it is named but also inspiring hope for a world free from Parkinson's. The award is given to scientists who make an exceptional contribution to Parkinson's research and are committed to mentoring the next generation of PD researchers.

The award, designed by renowned artist and Parkinson's patient Tom Shannon, is presented by the Foundation annually in New York City.

Eligibility, Selection Criteria and Process

Any researcher who has made significant contributions to the field of Parkinson's research is eligible to receive the prize. Preference is given to individuals who have made major discoveries with clear patient relevance. The prize may honor current cutting-edge research, an individual's past body of work or both. No applications are accepted for the Robert A. Pritzker Prize. The prize committee has sole authority to nominate and select the prize winner.

Robert A. Pritzker Prize Awardees

2023: Dario Alessi, PhD; University of Dundee

2022: J. Timothy Greenamyre, MD, PhD; University of Pittsburgh

2021: Glenda Margaret Halliday, PhD; University of Sydney

2020: Caroline Tanner, MD, PhD; Weill Institute for Neurosciences, University of California, San Francisco

2019: Andrew Singleton, PhD; National Institutes of Health, Maryland

2018: Virginia Man-Yee Lee, PhD; Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

2017: Ken Marek, MD; Institute for Neurodegenerative Disorders, Connecticut

2016: Ira Shoulson, MD; Georgetown University, Washington, DC

2015: John Hardy, PhD; University College London, England

2014: Heiko Braak, MD; Ulm University, Germany

2013: Alim-Louis Benabid, MD, PhD; Clinatec, France

2012: J. William Langston, MD; Parkinson's Institute and Clinical Center, California

2011: Anders Björklund, MD, PhD; Lund University, Sweden

Two female doctors talking in the lab.

Apply for a Grant

Our funding programs support basic, translational and clinical research from academia and industry.

See Funding Opportunities
"Basic research is often remarkably unspectacular, but every scientist who falls under its spell remains dedicated for their career.”
Heiko Brak, MD 2014 Recipient of the Pritzker Prize
We use cookies to ensure that you get the best experience. By continuing to use this website, you indicate that you have read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.